We are delighted to announce our Managing Director, Mark Lawler, is a newly appointed member of the Creative Group UK council, following an open call for applications earlier this year.

With members drawn from across the UK, as well as the full spectrum of creative sub-sectors, the council plays a vital role in determining and shaping the Creative UK Group’s impact priorities, steering policy positions, and sharing crucial insights from across the industry.

Commenting on his appointment, Mark Lawler said:

“It’s an honour to be appointed as a member of the Creative Group UK council representing creative and digital businesses – not only those based in Baltic but also from across the wider Liverpool City Region. I am looking forward to learning from others so that our city region’s creative sector can prosper, whilst also using my experience to support others and help facilitate and celebrate growth in the sector.” 

UK Council members are appointed for a term of two years, convening three times a year to champion and share the priorities, concerns, opportunities and ideas of their creative communities.

Caroline Norbury MBE, CEO, Creative UK Group, said:

“We are very excited to announce the newly appointed members of our UK Council, whose breadth of experience and expertise will be enormously valuable in driving our mission to ensure the best possible conditions for the growth and success of the creative industries. Representing freelancers, practitioners and businesses both big and small, they reflect the diversity and creativity that is central to what makes our sector thrive.”

The full list of UK council members include:

Bernard P Achampong Director – Development, Unedited and CEO, Ideas Genius Ltd. 

Nicholas Allott Producer / Cultural Fellow, Cameron Mackintosh 

Deborah Annetts CEO, Incorporated Society of Musicians 

Paul Appleby Director, Bristol Creative Industries/VID Comms 

Syima Aslam CEO, Bradford Literature Festival 

Yasin El Ashrafi CEO, HQ Recording 

Rachael Brown CEO, Future Economy Company 

Helen Brunsdon Director, British Animation Awards 

Lisa Burdge Director, Empire Design 

Louise Fedotov-Clements Artistic Director, QUAD & Director, FORMAT International Photography Festival 

Tamily Cookson Interim CEO, Creative Quarter Company Nottingham 

Helen Craddock Communications Director, Ryder Architecture 

Marcus Davey Chief Executive and Artistic Director, Roundhouse